Board of trustees

Prof. Dr. med. Inken Hilgendorf

  • Chairwoman of the Board of Trustees
  • Born in 1974
  • Study of human medicine
  • Specialist in internal medicine, hematology and oncology
  • Section leader for stem cell transplantation at the University Hospital Jena
  • Scientific work in the field of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation including immune reconstitution, pathophysiology and therapy of donor-versus-host disease (GVHD) and long-term follow-up
  • Chairwoman of the AYA network of DGHO

Prof. Dr. med. Carl F. Classen

  • Member of the Board of Trustees
  • Born in 1962
  • Specialist in paediatrics with continuing education in paediatric hematology and oncology
  • Senior physician at the University Children’s and Youth Hospital at the University Hospital Rostock
  • Head of the Brain Tumor Vaccine Working Group

Prof. Dr. med. Lorenz Trümper

    • Member of the Board of Trustees
    • Born in 1958
    • Study of human medicine, specialist in internal medicine and haemato-oncology
    • 1992 bis 2000: Senior physician, Saarland University, Internal Medicine I, Homburg/SaarGroup Leader Lymphomas Research, Saarland University, Dean of Studies Medical Faculty Göttingen, Member, Steering Committee, DSHNHL Trial Group; Member,
      GLSG and GHSG Trial Panels, KML Group
    • Since2001: Professor (C4) and Chairman, Georg-August-University Göttingen, Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology
    • 2008 bis 2018: Founding director of the Göttingen Comprehensive Cancer Center G-CCC
    • Since 2020: Executive Director of German Society for Hematology and Medical Oncology e.V. (DGHO)
    • Scientific work in the field of Molecular mechanisms of lymphomagenesis, Mechanisms of invasion and metastasis, Clinical research in malignant lymphoma, stem cell transplantation and cellular therapy

Prof. Dr. med. Anne Letsch

  • Member of the Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. med. Marie von Lilienfeld-Toal

    • Member of the Board of Trustees
    • Born in 1971
    • Specialist in internal medicine, specializing in hematology and internal oncology
    • Chair of Diversity Medicine at Ruhr University Bochum since 2023
    • Clinical and scientific focus: Health services research with an intersectional focus, multiple myeloma, infections in people with cancer, supportive therapy
    • Member of the DGHO advisory board
    • Chairwoman of the DGHO working group on diversity and individual medicine

Former members of the Board of Trustees


Prof. Dr. med. Mathias Freund (deceased)


Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Volker Diehl